Psychosocial Health

How to develop the Emotional Quotient of your child

Parents are their children’s first teachers in the development of emotional intelligence. Research has suggested that emotional intelligence plays a critical role in emotional well-being and success. Children with high emotional intelligence are better able to make friends, enjoy happiness and succeed in life.

Emotional Intelligence

The five main domains of emotional intelligence:

1. Knowing one's emotions

2. Managing one’s emotions

3. Motivating oneself

4. Recognising emotions in others

5. Handling interpersonal relationships

Tips for Parents

1. Increase your child’s emotional awareness

  • Children tend to express their emotions indirectly. Parents can better understand your child’s emotions and needs by paying attention to the child’s verbal and nonverbal expressions, like facial expressions, body gesture and tone of voice. For example, a child may throw temper when parents limit his/her behaviour. By reflecting your child’s feelings, parents help the child to connect feelings with experience.

  • Accept your child’s feelings. Be patient, empathetic and listen attentively to your child when he is having a difficult moment. This helps to strengthen the parent-child connection and calm the child. When a child feels safe and being respected, he will be more willing to explore and discuss, instead of suppress, his feelings and needs. Emotions help to guide the decisions we make in everyday life. For example, fear motivates us to get away.

  • Schedule “special time” with your child everyday to share happenings and feelings, or build up your child’s emotional literacy with stories.

2. Model emotional management skills

  • Parent’s psychological health is crucial to a child’s emotional welling being. Scheduling time for self reflection allows you to better understand and take care of yourself. Parents may schedule pleasant activities for oneself to increase positive emotions and experience in daily life. It is also important to make time for your spouse and nurture your marital relationship.

  • Parents and children may relieve stress by practising relaxation exercise, like muscle relaxation, breathing exercise and guided imagery. Parents may also explore with their children other fun ways of relieving stress like running, playing ball, painting and playing musical instruments. Good emotional management should conform to the principles of “Not hurting others, not hurting yourself and not destroying things”.

  • When parents feel stressed or tired, it is better to take a break from parenting. Staying calm serves a positive role model to your child in managing negative emotions. This helps you think logically and handle your child’s problem effectively. If encounter emotional distress, parents may talk to others or seek professional help.

3. Develop your child’s problem solving skills

  • Problem solving skills enable your child to deal effectively with his stressors in daily life. Help your child identify the problem/trigger of negative emotions. Instead of providing solutions, parents can encourage the child to brainstorm possible solutions. Discuss with your child the feasibility and effectiveness of the ideas and agree on a solution. As the ability to get things done does not mature until late adolescence or early adulthood, children may need help in creating an action plan. After solving the problem, parents can review with their child and affirm what the child has done well in the process.

  • Depending on your child’s maturity, parents may gradually offer children opportunities to solve problems independently. This can enhance your child’s self-confidence.

(Revised in January 2021)

PDF Printable version

心理社交健康

培養子女的情緒智能

家庭是孩子學習情緒的第一個場所,父母對子女情緒智能的發展扮演著非常重要的角色。研究顯示,情緒智能對個人的情緒健康和成就有重要的幫助。高情緒智商的孩子會更容易結交朋友、感到快樂、得到成功。

認識情緒智能

情緒智能包括以下五個範疇:

一 . 認識及察覺自己的情緒

二 . 管理自己的情緒

三 . 自我激勵

四 . 察覺及明白別人的情緒

五 . 妥善處理人際關係

親子EQ

一 . 增強孩子對情緒的覺察力

  • 由於孩子未必懂得用說話表達自己的情緒,而多用較間接的方式來表達情緒,所以家長必須仔細留意孩子的語言和非語言的情緒表達,包括面部表情、姿勢、語氣等,才能敏銳地了解孩子當時的感受,找出背後的訊息和需要。例如當我們限制孩子的一些行為時,孩子可能會發脾氣,家長如果此時能夠反映孩子的感受,便可以幫助孩子把感受和經驗連繫起來。

  • 接納孩子的情緒。當孩子有負面情緒時,家長要保持耐性,多聆聽孩子的想法,設身處地去明白孩子的感受,這有助穩定孩子的情緒並加強孩子與家長的感情連結。在感到安全和受尊重的氣氛下,孩子會更願意繼續探索及了解自己的情緒和需要,而不是壓抑負面情緒。情緒有助我們在日常生活中作出決定,例如:感到恐懼時我們會逃跑。

  • 家長可以每天騰出十五分鐘與孩子傾談,互相分享感受和看法,或透過故事增加孩子的情緒詞彙和拓展情緖經驗。

二 . 以身作則,教導孩子管理情緒的方法

  • 家長要有良好的心理質素,才能有效地處理自己及孩子的情緒。現代人生活忙碌緊張,家長要妥善管理自己的時間和工作,預留給自己獨處的時間,照顧自己的情緒和需要。家長亦可為自己安排一些喜歡的活動,增加正向的生活經驗和情緒。另外,家長宜安排與伴侶二人共處的時間,滋潤婚姻關係。

  • 面對生活的壓力,家長和孩子可以透過不同的鬆弛運動如肌肉鬆弛練習、腹式呼吸法、意象鬆弛法等來紓緩壓力。家長亦可和孩子商討一些孩子感興趣的紓緩壓力活動,如跑步、打球、繪畫、玩樂器等。良好的情緒管理,應符合不傷人、不傷己及不破壞的原則。

  • 當家長感到憤怒或疲累時,家長應先照顧自己的情緒及需要,待冷靜下來後才對孩子進行教導。如家長能夠在衝突中保持冷靜,這將對孩子有重要的示範作用。冷靜的頭腦亦讓家長能夠更理智及有效地處理孩子的問題。如果遇上情緒困擾,家長不妨找別人傾訴或尋求專業的協助。

三 . 培養孩子解決問題的能力

  • 解難能力高的孩子能有效處理日常生活中的問題,減低壓力。家長可以協助孩子找出引發情緒的原因。確立問題後,家長應避免立刻提出意見,而應鼓勵孩子以不同的角度和立場想出可能解決問題的方法。和孩子一起討論各種方法的可行性和適切性,並選擇最好的方法行動。由於孩子的執行能力尚未發展成熟,家長有時候需要協助孩子制定執行方案。解決問題後,家長可與孩子檢討並對孩子在過程中做得好的地方予以肯定。

  • 家長可隨著孩子的成熟程度,逐步讓孩子嘗試獨立解決問題以加強孩子的自信。

(二零二一年一月修訂)

PDF 列印版本